You

Place your hand on my shoulder
and the world, however cold or
gray, fades away, and I am me,
and I alone can see the future. It’s
in your eyes, your smile, your way
of waiting patiently while I try to find
the key to silence.

DSC_0874

Speak and music plays, symphonies of
days gone by, and I can fly, or at least
try. Wingless in the sky of your emotion;
all is motion, all is stillness, the shrillness
of insistent existence doused, put out,
destroyed in the void between two hearts,
playing a part in the pantomime of sharing. And

while the blaring of the crowd echoes in the
background, this equalizer we’ve found
slowly puts the volume down and I
can hear the sound of myself, filtered
through your self and reflected onto mine.

4 thoughts on “You

Leave a Reply

