Eternity in an Instant

328px-ClessidraEternity dwells in the instant between Out and In. All that came before, all that comes after–this is but a shadow on the face of Now.

The past lives in me, but I cannot live in the past; the future waits for me, but I cannot wait upon the future. History weighs me down as the clock-face drags me forward. I must cut ties with either, lest I lose my Self to both.

Out. In. Life and death, promise and doubt, intermixed in a multitude of single moments.

As I breathe, I am eternal.
I need no farther horizon
.
There is no grander view.

3 thoughts on “Eternity in an Instant

  1. Good thoughts, well said. You are a poet, my friend. Personally, I revel in history (not my own), and look forward to each coming day. Each day I learn more, and I love it. But I know eventually it will evaporate, as will I. Yet I am here at the moment and will pass by virtually unnoticed. Determinism accepted with grace.

Leave a Reply

