Vignettes – March 7-12, 2014

My first post on the new The Dustmobile Diaries blog. Check it out!

The Dustmobile Diaries

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANot all who wander are lost…

– J.R.R. Tolkein

New Mexico bound! (Again.)

With Tammy beside me in the darkened cabin of the Dustmobile, we turn north off of I-20 onto US-84 at Roscoe. Suddenly we are in outer space, lost in a world of blinking alien lights, red, on-off-on-off, second to second. I’ve been this way enough now that the pragmatist in me knows what they are: the nearly 630 turbines of the Roscoe Wind Farm, one of the largest in the world. But the first time I took this road, also at night, I remember a strange mixture of terror and awe, not sure what I was driving into, a little wary of being blown to smithereens in a military ballistics test gone horribly wrong, and fascinated by the beauty of a never-ending sea of lights. In the dark, they seem to be everywhere, infinite. The fact that…

View original post 955 more words

Leave a Reply

