The Code

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m trying to crack the code.

Am I not pretty enough?
Not funny enough?
Not hateful enough?
Where have I gone wrong?

This is not poetry, by the way–
nobody cares–
just centered because…
I felt like it.
Deal with it.

So much to “like”; so little time.

Is it because I don’t sport a cute girl-face on my Gravatar?
Perhaps I don’t ridicule others enough?
Or maybe it’s just me…
Maybe I just think I’ve something to say.

I’d be afraid this might turn you off,
you imaginary 977, you,
except no one’s likely to be turned on
long enough to be turned off.

Maybe, at the end of the day,
it’s that we all want to be heard
but no one really wants to listen.

Perhaps EgoPress would be a better name for this place…

I want to pull a Nixon,
to tell you you won’t have Vance to kick around no more…
but who can stop?
This stuff’s a drug–
it’s killing me but I gotta have it.

Mainline my inadequacy
till I burst a vessel…

Thank God this place has given me
a voice.

10 thoughts on “The Code

  1. I like centering my words. Though I don’t do it much.
    Doing this really is all about us huh. Sharing us. Being us. And even when we read others it is still all about us. What we want. How we want it. How we feel, when who we want, doesn’t post in awhile.

    1. You saw Dave’s comment on the next post, yes? He has a point: having a voice is about acknowledging others. But we all need to be acknowledged from time to time as well–anyone who says otherwise is telling an untruth. I’m the biggest loner ever to walk the earth, and I need it as much as anybody else. I see nothing wrong with admitting that. So, no, I don’t think it’s all about us; but I do think we wouldn’t be doing it if it wasn’t a little about us. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

      Thanks, JJ. I appreciate your thoughts. :0)

  2. Haven’t I seen you without that question mark? I think you are very pretty. Prettier without the question mark for sure.

    I’m a little miffed at the “a cute girl-face on my Gravatar” reference. For obvious reasons! 😛 You got something against cute girl-face gravatars? :mrgreen: 😉

    1. I don’t know. The punctuation adds mystery… :0)

      And I don’t mean to knock your Gravatar. That’s not the sort of “cute girl face” I’m talking about. I’m talking about the ones that might have walked off a modeling agency web site or out of a Glamour Shots studio. I’ve read essays that claim that online social media lessen reliance on “superficial features” like physical appearance. I don’t buy that, especially given the fact that the profile pic is generally the first thing we see of a new online acquaintance. Interesting note: every single one of the strong, Internet-based bonds I’ve created has been with someone whose face I didn’t see until well after getting to know them, if ever at all. I used to think that was a bad thing, but I’m radically adjusting my opinion on that.

      There is a fine line between blogging and trolling. Look around; I think you’ll see what I mean…

      1. In a nutshell – I have seen your face. 🙂 But I see now you’ve had a hair cut?

        Oh! That kind of cute face. Okay, for sure that’s not me. *giggle*

        You know, my avatar is a gift made by a blogging friend who has vanished into the mist. I’ve never been a blonde except for a few highlights. I’m in the grey zone now. But I love her little denim jumper and flower. In a way, she’s me. I’m taller though and a ton more wrinkles and age spots. Is this too much information for you? 🙂

        Yes, I’ve had ‘dem trolls around in my past blogging life.

      2. Hair cut, let it grow, hair cut, let it grow. It’s a cycle.

        I figured you were a bit taller. I haven’t met that many 1.25 cm. people… :0)

Leave a Reply

