De-Tweet!!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do not go tweet-ly into that good night;
Rage, rage against the dying of the write.

Not Dylan Thomas

A brief announcement:

After two weeks of shoe horns and crowbars, @magnificenttoad is no more.

I will not sell my soul, I will not eat my words, and I will not pretend there is true creativity in enforced brevity. Concision is for wimps. And those determined to make a point in 140 characters or less.

Dickens makes my soul sing; Hemingway makes my soul shrink. Twitter makes my soul nauseous.

So enjoy your tweets.

I will speak my own language. In complete, punctuated, grown-up sentences.

P.S. I am fully aware that the foregoing is a statement dripping with condescension and assumed superiority…

I’m okay with that.

5 thoughts on “De-Tweet!!!!

  1. I didn’t think you would last which is why I didn’t sub. LOL

    Positive Emotions Are More Contagious Than Negative Ones on Twitter

    “An analysis of 3,800 randomly chosen Twitter users found that emotions spread virally through Twitter feeds – with positive emotions far more likely to spread than negative ones.

    “What you tweet and share on social media outlets matters. Often, you’re not just expressing yourself – you’re influencing others,” said Emilio Ferrara, lead author of the study and a computer scientist at the USC Viterbi School of Engineering’s Information Sciences Institute. Ferrara collaborated with Zeyao Yang of Indiana University. Their study was published by the journal PLOS One on Nov. 6.

    The study builds on decades of research demonstrating first that emotions can be spread through person-to-person contacts, and now finding that they can spread through online interactions as well.“

    https://pressroom.usc.edu/positive-emotions-are-more-contagious-than-negative-ones-on-twitter/

    1. With all due respect, baloney. (At least as far as I’m concerned…)

      At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter what studies say. What matters is the subjective experience of each individual. When you insist that the positive effects of whichever social medium are more pervasive than the negative ones, and I’m the one who doesn’t get it, then that indicates that somehow my impression of things is less valid than other people’s. Which is kind of what you jump and down on people for saying about religion.

      As it happens, one of the reasons I “didn’t last” is that no one did “sub,” and those who did didn’t make a peep the whole time I was around.

      The digital milieu is not for me, and it never will be, and I’m pretty okay with that. And that’s really all that matters.

Leave a Reply

