By and By

What must I do
to escape being you?
The lies I hold true because
you once told them, and oh,
how you sold them! A bill of
ill goods, black to the core: I
ate my fill and came back for more.396280_10100316678480673_951323144_n

I put them in baskets set aside for
the winter, a wine so malign it
betrays its own vintner. And when
my eyes opened and witnessed
new light, how desperate you were
to chain me to night. And how you
delight in making me squirm, in
stealing my pudding and feeding me worms.

You promise high heaven and then
slam the gate; make off with the key while
I stand and wait, cold and alone, trampled
by rain, a chill you’ve told me is for my own gain.
And yet, there you are, happy and warm,
inside with your cocoa, while I drown in the storm…

10 thoughts on “By and By

  1. Good one, Vance, really good! So real, so yummy, not because its sweet, obviously, but due to its relativity to many of us who follow your blog.

    Unfortunately, the title reminds me of “By and by, oh when the morning comes. When the saints of old are gathered home. We will tell the story of how we overcome. We will understand it better by and by!”

    Thank you for sharing your love of rhythm and rhyme.

Leave a comment