2 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. Hmm… Seems a little dark, doesn’t it? This reminds me of visiting my grandparents’ and great grandparents’ graves in Ohio when I was there for my Nana’s funeral… From dust we came, and to dust we return!

    1. I don’t know if “darkness” is the word I’d choose (although I see your point). There is beauty in the human condition: as with the morning glory, part of what makes life beautiful is its brevity, the fact that we are finite.

      Uncle Melvin is a great guy, with a great sense of humor and a great outlook on life, but there was something about seeing him sitting there in that cemetery, a stone’s-throw from the graves of his wife and one of his daughters, that spoke to me, not in a depressing way, but in a truthful way. It was a moment of pure, unadulterated truth–one of those moments that’s extremely hard to come by in this world of pretenses we live in. I saw into Melvin’s soul, and I caught a little glimpse into my own in the process.

      I’m probably not explaining this adequately, and I know I sound a tad nuts a good portion of the time, but to me this photo is full of light, perhaps refracted at an odd angle, but light nevertheless…

Leave a Reply

